• HOME
  • News
  • Annual Meeting February 3rd 2021

Annual Meeting February 3rd 2021

Wednesday, January 20, 2021 9:00 AM | Jen Russo (Administrator)


Oh boy, what a year 2020 has been. Not only have we had a global pandemic, the shutdown in the visitor industry, plus B&Bs and short term rental homes and many condos were mandated to be closed for operation for many months. We are up and running again now, but there are legislative proposals to restrict Short Term Rental Homes and Short Term Rental Condos on the horizon. All the while, Maui's Short Term Rentals continue to be the single biggest source of revenue for the county in real property tax.

MVRA has been there throughout this year. We have worked with the planning department as they revised the ordinances for B&B and STRH. We have spoken against reducing or changing the regional caps, and phasing out short term rentals time and time again. We have kept everyone updated on the latest rules for the visitor industry. We couldn’t have done it without you.

This year’s annual meeting we will be having a discussion about amending the bylaws to include a condo owner on the board. We will be going over our legal update, and giving a legislative overview for the year to come.

Your voice matters, and what’s more, we need to be heard together. We look forward to seeing you, but unfortunately due to COVID we will not be meeting in person. However, this gives us the opportunity to meet over Zoom and see members from all across the country. Meeting is 2pm HST, that is 4pm Pacific; 5pm Mountain; 7pm Eastern, on Wednesday February 3rd.

Please register and RSVP at https://mvra.net/event-4133053

Agenda

  • Welcoming Statements
  • 2020 in Review
  • Legislative overview
  • Whats ahead for 2021
  • By-Law Amendments
  • Board member Voting

If you need to update your membership to active prior to the meeting please check here.


We are seeking additional board members and looking to create a few subcommittees. We are looking for more board members that are bed and breakfast owners as well as condo owners. Please let us know if you can assist, get involved, recommend someone or share ideas.



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software